EPIDERMIS

Posted: August 14, 2016 in Melancholia
Tags: , ,

Beneath your skin,

Dark and lovely connubial vials

Hold ancient songs buried in liquid deep

A serenade in the Serengeti

A sunrise on distant hills

Shedding light on black and white

A myriad of hopes drown in murky waters

As my soul holds yours against the tides

We are the color on our skin, they said

But we shed red rivers when our heart is bled

The tears in your eyes form stalactites

As a wall of paint stands between you and I

Watch me wander through pigments

Trading ambivalence, lost in your essence

To the giggles in their glances and gossip

Color me blind, paint me deaf and let me pass

– Efe OGUFERE

 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

