INFERNO

Posted: July 18, 2014 in Prose

20140718-071020.jpg

Saturdays weren’t meant to be this cold. Even the wind shivered as it walked by. The Great Mall in all its intimidating beauty stood tall as they drove in; a longed-for splendour in this ancient city finally come to life.

The fight had been intense. Mum went all out this time, threatening to take me and leave! Who might that silly woman be texting Dad at odd hours?
The argument could be heard in the wee hours of the morning. Mum’s temper rising with the sun, fiercer at dawn.

‘Nothing should ruin this day for me o!’, he mumbled selfishly.

“How can you be so insensitive?” She yelled…

He helplessly watched as his treasure crumbled before his eyes. He would never cheat on her, something should already know. What could have come over her?
That silly stalking pest had somehow gotten his number…How could he have been so careless? It must have been the moment he stepped out of the office.

A few miles away, a rat runs off frightened by the ruffling bed sheet. He tosses and turns, he can barely find sleep. A few hours to go, he walked to the window and stared down at the night crawlers. They had no idea the pain he was about to unleash; the terror that would cause them to rue this day.
The cold wind washed over him and rocked his skinny frame making him shudder. Lighting a match he grabs a stick and inhales.
“I hope they keep their word” he mutters.

She fumes. She is at her breaking point! His smug expression makes her heart boil…he has nothing to say for himself.
“I am sorry” he whispers, in a voice as soft as silk, cutting through her rage to reveal how much she loves him.
“No, Never..Not this time!!!” Internal voices contended within her. He is cheating and his soft words won’t move me. How could he? She throws a lamp, he ducks and escapes just in time.

Damn! He ducks again, weaving another missile. This woman is really something, “She looks so sexy when she’s mad” he thinks, a smile stealing across his face…He should tell her. Or probably not. “My head must be off or something! I am knee deep in a stinky pile and all I can think of is the lavender on her lips. This woman is a goddess.” He cursed his mind for running away from him.

She caught his fleeting smile.
“Do you think this is funny?!” She yells. He must be mad. If only she could get one of these pillows to hit home and wipe the philandering smirk of that lovely face, those eyes. She sighed,lost in lust while hating how much she loved him. She launches another rocket.

He walks into the room, defiant. I have to still this raging storm, today is my day!!! Even Aries the god of war would fall in hopeless defeat if he tried to take this day from me. Speaking of which…he muses ‘How do I get past that silly stage in “God of War 3?”
He opens the door without knocking.The pillow hits him square on the face and he loses his balance.

He turns to see his son flat on his back… Oh my God! ‘David, are you alright?’ He asks, rushing to his side and picking him up gently. He carries him to the bed and spares a glance at the culprit. As expected, she is pink with shame and looks like a frightened mouse.

“I have done it this time” she weeps “My poor baby”. She pushes her husband aside and tends to her precious. The boy looks up at them, smiles feebly and whispers “Truce?”.
She smiles back, kisses his forehead and replies ‘Truce’. Then turns back and looks at the offender and adds…”For now”.

He looks at his baby boy and winks.
‘We are going to see a movie to celebrate this truce!!!’ he proclaims. Amazingly, David springs to his feet and does a moonwalk. Their laughter can be heard in the next street. For now, sanity returns to the Johnson family.

The call had been brief and precise. The Kensington Mall by noon….No questions asked.

She adds finishing touches to her makeup, she can hear the impatient clicking of their teeth and jangling of keys by Father and Son.
She giggles and turns to them, “Stop that racket, you two…It’s very ungentlemanly!!. A perfect gentleman should wait for a lady in silence and tell her how beautiful she is when she is done.” They both grumble, amazingly in sync. Her heart is warm and fuzzy all over; the men in her life bring her joy. She hasn’t forgotten though, taking mental notes.

He wonders what movie they would see,longing for Monday when he would brag to his classmates about movies he had seen and they had not. He could bet nerdy Quincy had yet to see the new Spiderman. Quincy had ruined X-Men for him by adding unsolicited backup to his story!! Spiderman it is!!! Mummy just had to hurry up now. He cannot understand how women smear their faces with brown powder as if the white powder was not enough. Oh well, like Dad always says, “Women, there is no understanding them”.

Written: The Aventurine.
Editted: Otbor

Comments
  1. nickomo22 says:

    Inasmuch as (yes, I’ve been aching to use that word)… Inasmuch as… Err I’ve lost my chain of thoughts… Oi vey!!!! Aha…. Why did I begin with inasmuch as??? Never mind… Great piece. Felt a lot like Alice tumbling down the… Which hole did that dumb blonde fall into again sef??? Uhm very visual, I like… The switch from third person to first person and back is quite a lot to take in at first. Hint of mystery is always cool to me…. Err, what else….. A departure from what I’ve come to expect from you. The footprints of he who shall not be named are very subtle in this piece. Well done Ot****…… Quit while you’re ahead… Very alien concept to me…. Okay I’ve lost my thoughts again. In the eternal words of Jack Sparrow and fat Gibbs, “Take what you can, give nothing back”.
    Erm, I don’t think that quite fit, but hey if you don’t like it, yippy kah yay.. You know the rest!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. nickomo22 says:

    Inasmuch as (yes, I’ve been aching to use that word)… Inasmuch as… Err I’ve lost my chain of thoughts… Oi vey!!!! Aha…. Why did I begin with inasmuch as??? Never mind… Great piece. Felt a lot like Alice tumbling down the… Which hole did that dumb blonde fall into again sef??? Uhm very visual, I like… The switch from third person to first person and back is quite a lot to take in at first. Hint of mystery is always cool to me…. Err, what else….. A departure from what I’ve come to expect from you. The footprints of he who shall not be named are very subtle in this piece. Well done Ot****…… Quit while you’re ahead… Very alien concept to me…. Okay I’ve lost my thoughts again. In the eternal words of Jack Sparrow and fat Gibbs, “Take what you can, give nothing back”.
    Erm, I don’t think that quite fit, but hey if you don’t like it, yippy kah yay.. You know the rest!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Aventuяine says:

    *reads thru* lmaooooo

    This nigga tho, thanks for reading.

    Like

  4. Quincy Antak says:

    Nerdy Quincy eh?? 🙂
    Beautiful piece brother…’Never knew u had this skill all along.
    Pls who is Nickomo..do I know him?

    Like

Leave a Reply

